Saturday, April 21, 2018

Yes! Yes! Yes! SLMR returns!!

Finally! Summer Movies have returned!!

That's right. It's that time again. Summer Legendary Movie Review has returned for its 11th season!

Refresher...

Each and every week of the summer movie season the Summer Movie Squad (SMS) gathers together to view one (or more) of the premiering films. What follows (hopefully) is a post on this blog about the magical movie going experience.

As always, this is a NO SPOILER zone. The worst part about most film reviews is when the impassioned critic believes it's his/her purpose to ruin the reviewed movie for you by providing a detailed re-telling of the entire plot. Not on this blog! We will simply give a honest recommendation based on our well established personal ranking system.

With a new year, comes a few new modifications on how we will deliver our reviews to you. We will still provide a post on this blog each week, but we will also test out other ways get out a more instant response.      i.e. quick Facebook Live or Periscope reviews.

This year is also the earliest start date for SLMR. That's mainly due to Avengers Infinity War moving its premiere up a week.  Now on to the list!!


The Official SLMR 2018 List


April 27 - Avengers: Infinity War

May 11 - Life of the Party

May 18 - Deadpool 2

May 25 - Solo: Star Wars
     
June 1* - American Animals 
            - Adrift

June 8*- Hearts Beat Loud 
            - Ocean’s 8

June 15* - Incredibles 2
               - Tag

June 22 - Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

June 29 -  Sicario 2

July 6 - Ant-Man & the Wasp

July 13 - Skyscraper 

July 20 - OPEN

July 27* - Mission: Impossible - Fallout
              - Teen Titans Go! To the Movies
              

August 3* - Christopher Robin
               - The Spy Who Dumped Me

August 10 - The Meg

August 17 - OPEN


August 24 - OPEN

Bold - Must see
* - Double Feature week


There is a lot in there. At first the main list was thin. There are still a few open weeks. Although recently, a few new trailers came out to help fill the list more.

First up, AVENGERS INFINITY WAR!!

Will it be the first Legendary movie of the year? Let's find out!!

Official hashtags:
#SLMR #SMS2018 #SMSTexasEdition #SMSVegas

Sunday, July 23, 2017

War Films - Back to Back




War for the Planet of the Apes

Last week we saw the final chapter of the current Planet of the Apes saga. We were extremely excited about this film because we are fans of the previous Planet of the Apes movies about Caesar.

This movie had a much different tone from the previous two movies. The title gives you a good guess on the film's genre. Although don't expect giant battle scenes. The film had more quiet, intense moments as the story follows a small group of apes on a mission within a much larger war.

War for the Planet of the Apes gets E - Exceptional

It completes the story we have been following for the past three movies. As these movies made the Apes the protagonists showing us a different side of this story. You'll be happy with the ending but maybe a bit sad to see the Caesar's origin story come to a close.




Dunkirk

Then we saw a much different war film this week.

Dunkirk gets E - Exceptional

This movie is phenomenal. The story is about the careful evacuation of hundreds of thousands of British soldiers on a French beach that was surrounded my enemy forces during World War II. Now that movie description could sound a little boring and it could be a very boring film, that is if it was created by anyone other than Christopher Nolan.

Nolan brings you right into what it felt like to be part of this war.  The movie is loud, but also quiet. It's also very suspenseful and heart pounding. You need to see it on the big screen. It's the only way to engulf yourself into the film.

Next up ... Atomic Blonde. I'm hoping it's going to be good. Also we got a bit distracted with all the San Diego Comic Con breaking news and trailers that we may see Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets sometime this week.

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming


Spectacular!
Sensational!
Amazing!

If you haven't seen Spider-Man: Homecoming yet, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! Stop reading this! Go to a theater and see this movie, right now!

Finally Spider-Man movie that we all were waiting to see.

I will admit that I enjoyed all the previous Spidey movies, even the hated Spider-Man 3, but the past few movies seemed to promise a lot only to leave us all with the feeling that something was missing. We were wishing for more. No more wishing required. I can confidently say this is the best Spider-Man movie to date.

This movie delivered and more. It was funny. There was plenty of action. It even provided twists and reveals that you expect from a great movie.

Plus the best Marvel villain.... Michael Keaton was phenomenal as the Vulture.
Many thought that the Vulture wouldn't be tough enough to be a Big Bad, but Keaton will prove them all wrong.

Spider-Man: Homecoming gets L - Legendary

Rebooting a beloved character is difficult. Just look at Superman as an example. Although it is true this Spidey is the third version of within the past decade. Also true this Spidey sorta already premiered in the MCU a year ago.  But Marvel has been able to bring its most popular character into the MCU and did so in stunning fashion. It all points toward a larger Amazing Spider-Man/Avenger universe yet to come with less rebooting and more story-telling.

Make Mine Marvel!!

Next week: War for the Planet of the Apes! Hoping for another great movie from this franchise

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Transformers: The Last Knight



I believe I have said this before.
The one thing I like about the Transformers movies... the Transformers.
The one thing I hate about the Transformers movies... the humans.

This Transformers sequel is awful.

Most of the robot fighting action in the movie is great. That's all I want to see when I go to a movie titled Transformers.

Most of the human interacting with Transformers and other humans is dreadful.

I get that alien robots coming to Earth need to interact with humans living on the planet, but those alien robots don't need humans causing problems for them as they are engaged in an intergalactic battle.

Why does this movie need long introductions of new characters?
What happened to the new characters from the last movie?
Why can't there be more Transformers fighting each other?

There doesn't need to be any more time spent on this.

Transformers: The Last Knight gets n - Nugatory

I would suggest you wait until it airs on a basic cable channel.

Next week.... The House and/or Baby Driver

*Side note* The Bad Batch only opened to 30 theaters nationwide... so... didn't see it.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

The Mummy


So begins the Dark Universe.

For those who didn't know, The Mummy is the beginning of a new cinematic universe containing every monster in the Universal Studios catalog. Classic monsters like Dracula, Frankenstein, the Wolfman, the Invisible Man, and Creature from the Black Lagoon will soon be reintroduced to movie audiences. Each getting new stand along movies with hopes to have all the monsters exist in the same  movie universe.

Although this isn't the first attempt to re-boot the monster universe.
Remember The Wolfman (2010)?
Maybe you heard of Dracula Untold (2014)?
Of course, what ever happened to the blockbuster The Mummy (1999)? Which had two sequels!

Ironically displayed at the theater where we viewed The Mummy last night.

So why is there a need to re-boot the previously re-booted? More importantly, should you even go see it?

The Mummy get G - Gratifying

Tom Cruise gives the movie enough star power to entice an audience. Plus there are a few seat jumping scares, and the mummy character is creepy and terrifying at moments.  I think it helps that we sat close to the screen for those scares. I only had a problem with the ending. I feel the movie was going one direction and then takes an odd turn with no way to resolve it.

The classic monster movies of the 1930s were considered popcorn movies of their era. This movie is no different. You should grab a large bag of popcorn, sit real close to the screen, and enjoy the ride. Just don't expect the story to blow you away. It's just suppose to be two hours of fun.

Next week we have Cars 3.... I barely remember the second movie!

*NOTE* Baby Driver has moved from August to June 28th, and Dark Tower has moved  to August 4th. Don't know why??

Monday, June 5, 2017

Wonder Woman




Everyone's new favorite DC Cinematic Universe superhero is going to be Wonder Woman!!

I will admit that I didn't have high expectations for Wonder Woman. Not after seeing the forgettable Green Lantern, or the conflicted Man of Steel, and not even after what suppose to be greatest fight bout that was Batman v. Superman. The whole DC Universe felt rushed with too much thrown together too quickly. Then the film makers of Wonder Woman decided to take a step back and give us the foundational building block that we all wanted from their legendary characters.

From all the trailers, you would be excepting an origin story, and that's what you get, but... with so much more. This is not just another superhero movie. It had soft quiet moments and emotional scenes that helped develop the characters. It was a heart filled movie that could have easily been a fascinating drama rather than an action packed superhero movie.


Wonder Woman is L - Legendary!

It delivers to us the first stand alone female superhero origin story and she just may be the character that turns the corner for the entire Justice League franchise.

Next week The Mummy!!!

Here's hoping Brendan Fraser makes a cameo

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Baywatch



This is definitely a late review. I wanted to do a double feature post this week but I failed to view the second feature of the double. I guess this is just a single feature then.

Do you like laughing at nonsense?
Does movie plot mean zero to you?
Do you enjoy watching beautiful Actors interact in raunchy situations?

If the answer to any of these questions is yes, then you'll enjoy seeing Baywatch.

First you must realize, Baywatch is a comedy. It is also rated R. So might want to reconsider bringing the younglings to the show. Don't be like the woman who sat behind us with her 8-9 year old daughter. The first curse words came just minutes into the movie about the same time as the mature sexual conduct. We would hear gasps after each vulgar joke or scene. Followed by "what's that mommy?" questions.
I don't know why she even stayed in the theater.

Baywatch was fun. There is not much to the story. Although the movie knows what it is supposed to be and will even makes fun of its own premise.

Baywatch gets an e - Entertained

Watching this movie at home would be the best option.

*Note* We missed out on the Pirates of the Caribbean movie this week, but the word around the cineplex is that it isn't very good.

Up next Wonder Woman